QAAS Headquarters

QAAS has its offices in National Trust House in William Street. This is a fascinating Heritage Building that was last renovated around 15 years ago.

National Trust House which was the former Immigration Depot, was constructed in 1865–66. It was located adjacent to the Queen’s Wharf, which was the point of arrival for thousands of immigrants entering the new free colony between 1848 and 1897.

In 1890 the William Street Immigration Depot was adapted as offices for the newly established Department of Agriculture, which later became the Department of Primary Industries.
Between 1898 and 1936 the building was extended several times, including the addition of new wings and an extra storey to the William Street elevation. In 1994, some of the post-1899 extensions were demolished to make way for a new government office complex.